Congress wins 32 seats, MNF 5 and MPC 1

Congress wins 32 seats, MNF 5 and MPC 1

Congress wins 32 seats, MNF 5 and MPC 1

After facing a debacle in four states, Congress today got some good news in Mizoram where it won a two thirds majority in the Assembly elections snapping up 32 of 39 seats, while Opposition MNF secured five and MPC one.

The Congress had won 32 seats in the 2008 Assembly elections in the Christian-dominated state.

Counting in one seat, Lawngtlai East, could not be completed because of a problem in an EVM at Tialdawngilung polling station, Joint Chief Electoral Officer H. Lalengmawia told PTI.
A repoll would be held on December 11 and counting on December 12, he said.
Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, all set for a fifth term, won from both Serchhip and Hrangturzo seats he contested.

In Serchhip, Thanhawla, who was elected to the Assembly for a record ninth time since 1978, won by a margin of 734 votes defeating his nearest Mizo National Front (MNF) rival Lalramzauva, who got 4,985 votes in a four-cornered contest.

In Hrangturzo, the Chief Minister defeated his Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) rival Lalthansanga by 1,638 votes. Thanhawla received 5173 votes in a five-cornered contest.
Thanhawla had been chief minister in 1984, 1989, 1993 followed by a break for two terms before he donned the mantle again in 2008.

Of the 11 ministers who contested, nine -- R Lalzirliana (Home), J H Rothuama (Cooperation), P C Zoram Sangliana (Transport), H Rohluna (Forests), Lalrinliana Sailo (Health), Lalsawta (Education), Zodintluanga (Sports), P C Lalthanliana (Social Welfare), Veterinary Minister Nihar Kanti Chakma -- won.

Finance Minister H Liansailova was defeated in Aizawl North-II by Lalthanliana of MPC, a junior partner of MNF.

Tourism Minister S Hiato lost to MNF's K Beichhua in Saiha.

While Assembly Speaker R. Romawia won from the prestigious Aizawl North-I seat, Deputy Speaker John Rotluangliana won from Mamit.

Congress also bagged the Tuivawl, South Tuipui, Lunglei South, Palak, Champhai North, Lawngtlai West, Tuirial, Tawi and Tuichawng seats.

On the poll outcome, Lal Thanhawla said contrary to anti-incumbency playing a crucial role after completion of a five-year term, in Mizoram "pro-incumbency worked in favour of Congress.

"I am going to form the next government in the state," he said.

The main Opposition MNF was far behind bagging five seats -- Saiha, Tuikum, Aizawl West-I, Aizawl West-II,Aizawl West - III, two more than in 2008.

Among the five, the party's Rajya Sabha MP Lalhming Liana won from Serlui defeating Congress' R. Selthuama.

Barring MNF and the MPC, Maraland Democratic Front, a constituent of the three party alliance failed to open its accounts. The MDF had one seat earlier.

A prominent loser was opposition Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) chief Lalduhawma, who was defeated both from Aizawl West-I and Kolasib. The party had two seats in the outgoing House.

The BJP which had fielded 17 candidates and the NCP 2 drew a blank.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)