Expelled TMC MP, 2 sitting Cong MLAs from WB join BJP

Expelled TMC MP, 2 sitting Cong MLAs from WB join BJP

Workers prepare BJP party flags ahead of General Elections 2019, in Bhubaneswar, Tuesday, March 12, 2019. PTI Photo for representation.

Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections two sitting MLAs of Congress and CPM along with an expelled Trinamool Congress MP joined BJP on Tuesday in Delhi.

Congress MLA Dulal Chandra Bar was elected from Bagda Assembly constituency in North 24 Paraganas district and the CPM MLA won from the Habibpur Assembly seat in Malda district.

Expelled TMC MP Anupam Hazra won in the last Lok Sabha elections from Bolpur Lok Sabha seat.

During the ceremony BJP leader and former TMC general secretary, Mukul Roy targeted West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and said that the people of the state have totally gone against her.

"There is a wave of hate against Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal. Several other TMC leaders are in touch with us and will soon join BJP, " said Roy.

Several other members from the minority community also joined BJP during the day.