Counting for state Assembly polls on May 2

Counting for state Assembly elections to take place on May 2

Assembly elections will start from March 27

Representative Image. Credit: PTI Photo

The Election Commission of India on Friday announced that results for Assembly elections that are to be held in the states of West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Kerala and Assam will be counted on May 2.

As parties prepare the battleground for crucial Assembly elections in four states and one Union Territory, the Election Commission formally sounded the bugle and announced the schedule for Assembly polls in Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala, West Bengal and Puducherry on Friday.

Read | Assembly elections to start from March 27, counting for all on May 2

This year, keeping in mind the coronavirus pandemic and the restrictions imposed because of that, the polling time has been increased by one hour.

A total of 824 Assembly constituencies shall be going for polls during these elections. 18.68 crore electors will cast vote at 2.7 lakh polling stations in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Assam and Puducherry.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox