Nitish, Sushil, Rabri set to become MLCs

Nitish, Sushil, Rabri set to become MLCs

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Monday filed his nomination papers for election to the legislative council.

His deputy, and senior BJP leader, Sushil Modi also filed his papers for the MLC election. This was the third time since 2006 that the duo have filed papers for the council polls.

Prior to becoming chief minister and deputy chief minister in November 2005, Nitish and Sushil were Lok Sabha members from Nalanda and Bhagalpur, respectively.

Even though Nitish contested the 2004 Lok Sabha polls from two constituencies, he lost from Barh, while winning from his home town Nalanda.

However, after wresting Bihar from Lalu-Rabri in November 2005, both Nitish and Modi resigned as MPs and entered the legislative council in 2006.

Today was the last day for filing nomination papers. Since 11 seats will be vacant on May 5, and only 11 candidates have filed their papers, all those who have submitted their nominations will be declared elected as MLCs unopposed.

With the RJD being the single largest party, it will bag four seats, including that of Rabri Devi (whose term ended, but has been re-nominated by Lalu), the JD (U) and the BJP will win three seats each, given the arithmetic in the Assembly.

The Congress, with 27 MLAs in its kitty, has nominated AICC media panelist Prem Chandra Mishra for the council.

Former chief minister and president of the Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM) Jitan Ram Manjhi, who is now part of the Grand Alliance, has agreed to the proposal that his son Santosh Manjhi will be an MLC representing RJD, not HAM.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily