'Plan' to file case against AAP 21 MLAs

'Plan' to file case against AAP 21 MLAs

Calling ‘likely’ chargesheets against 21 AAP MLAs a plant from the BJP-led Union government, Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday accused the Narendra Modi-led government of diverting attention from Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj and Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s alleged involvement in the controversy surrounding former IPL chief Lalit Modi.

Earlier in the day, Delhi Police had denied reports that it is that it is preparing chargesheet against 21 AAP MLAs, including Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. Delhi Police Commissioner BS Bassi said he has no knowledge of chargesheets being filed against AAP MLAs.

The ruling party in Delhi claimed that the timing of the news is suspect. “To divert attention from Sushma,story of 21 AAP MLAs to be arrested,is planted by Modi government,” senior AAP leader Ashutosh said on Twitter.  “An editor told me they are under tremendous pressure to move away from Sushma as its now hurting those in BJP who wanted to fix Sushma,” he said in an another tweet.

Making a fresh allegation on Saturday, the AAP said the former IPL chief had invested money in the company of Rajasthan CM's son and BJP MP Dushyant Singh's son companies.  “A Mauritius based company routed money in Lalit Modi's company and also gave it an unsecured loan. His company had also bought shares, which had a face value of Rs 10, at a premium rate of Rs 96,180," AAP spokesperson Raghav Chadha said at a news conference.
"We do not have a law on conflict of interest. But India is party to the UN Convention on Corruption which states that nepotism, favouritism and clientalism are also forms of corruption," Chadha said.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)