Winter session of Parliament to begin from Dec 11

Winter session of Parliament to begin from Dec 11

Parliament's winter session is all set to begin on December 11, the day of the counting of votes of the elections in five states, and continue till January 8.

The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs, at a meeting chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday night, decided to recommend to President Ram Nath Kovind to summon both Houses of Parliament for the winter session from December 11 to January 8.

The session will have 20 working days and the government is expected to make a push for passage of the triple talaq bill and replace the Indian Medical Council Ordinance with a Bill.

The Opposition is gearing up to pin down the Modi government on issues ranging from the Rafale aircraft deal, the RBI issue, agrarian distress,  foreign relations and the state of the economy.

The Lok Sabha will be adjourned for the day on December 11 on account of the death of Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar and Lok Sabha member Bhola Singh.

The results of the Assembly elections, in which both the ruling BJP and the Congress have high stakes, is expected to cast a shadow on parliamentary proceedings.