Belgaum ride on Sachin, Cariappa heroics

Riding on the back of two trebles from Sachin (13th, 14th, 41st) and Cariappa (16th, 19th, 49th), Belgaum thumped Hubli 8-1 in the second men’s inter-district hockey tournament here on Tuesday. 

In some of the other matches, both the Coorg men and women completed handsome victories. While the men blanked Gadag 6-0 before defeating Bagalkot 2-1, the women thrashed Udupi 11-1. 

In another match in the men’s section, Shimoga edged past Mangalore 2-1. 

Srikanth (13th) and Kumar N (21st) scored the goals for Shimoga while Appachu (14th) sounded the board for Mangalore. 

In the women’s section, Chaithra KC (6th, 9th, 17th, 22nd, 27th) and Parvathi M (35th, 41st, 44th, 49th) pounded nine goals between themselves as Coorg thumped Udupi 11-1.Results: Men: Belgaum: 8 (Sachin 13th, 14th, 41st, Cariappa 16th, 19th, 49th, Thapreesh 32nd, Siddarth Chalk 47th) bt Hubli: 1 (Savan 47th); Mysore w/o Tumkur; Shimoga: 2 (Srikanth 13th, Kumar N 21st) bt Mangalore: 1 (Appachu 14th); Coorg: 6 (Darshan DS 8th, 35th, Biddappa KD 15th, 27th, Jeevan 38th, Somaiah 49th) bt Gadag: 0; Koppal: 8 (Nachappa 2nd, Jagath 7th, Chengappa 10th, 46th, Farhan 15th, Pruthvi 20th, 28th, Subbaiah 47th) bt Bangalore (Urban): 0; Hassan: 9 (Own goal 10th, Nagaling Swamy 16th, Shesha Gowda 20th, 21st, 23rd, 29th, Abhishek 33rd, Bhanu Prasad 36th, 38th) bt Mangalore: 0; Mysore: 8 (Mukesh Monaiah 4th, 7th, Umesh KR 5th, Appachu SK 10th, Somanna KM 16th, 49th, Nanaiah IG 21st, Biju 28th) bt Hubli: 1; Coorg: 2 (Aiyappa PR 5th, Kariappa 22nd) bt Bagalkot: 1 (Anji 43rd). 

Women: Coorg: 11 (Chaitra KC 6th, 9th, 17th, 22nd, 27th, Harinakshi BS 20th, Chelumba R 34th, Parvathi M 35th, 41st, 44th, 49th) bt Udupi: 1 (Jyothi 29th); Hassan: 4 (Spurhti HP 28th, 32nd, 29th, Ganavi BY 42nd) bt Bangalore (Urban): 1 (Baveeda 43rd); Bellary: 1 (Nikitha 31st) drew Hassan: 1 (Ramya N 45th).

Comments (+)