BFC 'B' emerge champions

BFC 'B' emerge champions

All SMILES: Bengaluru FC 'B' champions of the C Puttaiah Memorial Trophy. (From left) STANDING: Prashanth Kalinga, Biswa Darjee, Leon Augustine, Naushad Moosa (head coach), Ajay Chhetri, Roshan Singh, Parag Shrivas, Lalhmunmawia, Asheer Akthar, Lalengzama

Some slick play coupled with well-worked set pieces handed Bengaluru FC 'B' a 2-1 victory over Madras Engineer Group and with it the C Puttaiah Memorial Trophy for Super Division football teams.

In front of a raucous crowd at the Bangalore Football Stadium on Sunday, skipper Lalengzama Vangchhia (41st minute) and Myron Mendes (86th) struck for the Blues' colts on either side of Rahul's strike (56th) as the tournament made its return, last being held in 2014 when the Bengaluru FC senior squad emerged triumphant.

In the Prasanna Kumar Memorial Shield for 'A' Division teams, Income Tax overcame a young DYES outfit 1-0.

It was pretty much even in the Puttaiah Memorial final as both sides showed tremendous energy and pace but clear-cut chances came at a premium.

MEG's Leon was found wanting with his side's first chance in the 25th minute. With the ball at his feet and acres of space to compose himself and fire, Leon went for power over accuracy and saw his shot fly narrowly over the crossbar.

The miss came back to haunt MEG four minutes before the break as Lalengzama put BFC 'B' ahead. Having been awarded a free-kick right on the edge of the area, Lalengzama stepped up calmly and slotted past a hapless Sharath in the MEG goal.

MEG aren't known to be pushovers and they displayed their grit, pushing ahead with intent and eventually grabbing the equaliser in the 56th minute. Rahul skipped past a couple of defenders before wrong-footing BFC custodian Aditya Patra and finishing into the bottom left corner with aplomb.

It looked like just the wake up call BFC 'B' needed as they moved forward at speed and troubled the MEG defence on numerous occasions but Sharath stayed firm and kept his side in the game.

With the clock ticking down, BFC 'B' were rewarded for their persistence as Myron smashed home from close range after Altamash Sayed played in a neat cross from a set-piece to find the midfielder unmarked six yards out.

A deflated MEG couldn't find their way back sparking joyous celebrations and chants from the BFC faithful that had gathered.

Results: C Puttaiah Memorial: BFC 'B': 2 (Lalengzama Vangchhia 41st, Myron Mendes 86th) bt MEG: 1 (Rahul 56th)

Prasanna Kumar Memorial: Income Tax: 1 (Sujith Kumar 56th) bt DYES FC: 0.

Individual awards: Super Division: Best goalkeeper: Mutum Raj (ASC & Centre FC); Best defender: Parag Shrivas (BFC 'B'); Best midfielder: Vignesh (Kickstart FC); Best forward: Cleaven (MEG)

'A' Division: Best Goalkeeper: Bhima Shankar (DYES FC); Best defender: Dilip (Parikrma); Best midfielder: J Prasad (Income Tax FC); Best forward: Sherwin (FC Deccan)

Special award: Best upcoming Team of ‘A’ Division: DYES FC.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox