Pakistan, Korea given wildcards

The dates and host city will be announced later, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) said. The tournament will feature eight teams instead of the existing six.

Besides India, Pakistan and South Korea, the annual tournament will feature world champions Australia, England, Germany, the Netherlands and Spain, the world governing body said in a statement.

South Korea are ranked sixth in the world, while Pakistan were rewarded for winning the Asiad gold last month in Guangzhou, China, which earned them a direct entry to the 2012 London Olympics.

The women’s Champions Trophy will also feature eight teams with China and New Zealand joining Argentina, Germany, England, Australia, South Korea and host nation Netherlands, the FIH said.

Comments (+)