2,655 candidates in the fray across Karnataka

2,655 candidates in the fray across Karnataka

The final tally of the number of candidates contesting the May 12 Assembly elections is 2,655, Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar said on Saturday.

As many as 271 nominations were rejected, the highest in Shantinagar and Rajajinagar constituencies in Bengaluru at eight each. Another 583 nominations were withdrawn with the highest of 17 in Mulbagal constituency in Kolar.

Mulbagal also has 39 candidates in the fray, the highest. Because it has more than 31 candidates, the Mulbagal constituency will need three ballot units of the electronic voting machine (EVM), authorities said. There are 25 Assembly constituencies having over 15 candidates in the fray, needing more than one ballot unit.  Sedam (Kalaburagi) and Challakere (Chitradurga) segments have the lowest number of candidates at four each.

There are 1,155 independents contesting the polls, with another 800 candidates belonging to registered unrecognised parties.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily