Action unlikely till Haveri meet

Discipline in the BJP has taken a hit with five MLAs, four MLCs, and three MPs openly identifying themselves with B S Yeddyurappa as the former chief minister set out to end his 40-year association with the party.

The twelve elected representatives shared the dais with Yeddyurappa at a public function before he submitted his resignation to the Assembly  Speaker K G Bopaiah.

Except Siddesh and Raghavendra, others were present when Yeddyurappa submitted his resignation letter. MLA Nehru Olekar not only attended the KJP programme but also addressed the gathering.

He said, “The KJP is secular as it has accommodated leaders of all communities. This is making other parties insecure. The Haveri convention will be a milestone in the history of Karnataka politics.”

No action

BJP State president K S Eshwarappa, who had threatened to initiate stern action against party members who defy party norms, was not available for comments.

However, sources in his office said there has been no communication on initiating any action. BJP sources say the party is unlikely to even issue show cause notices to them. The party does not want to upset the apple cart at a time when the winter session of legislature is scheduled to start on December 5.

 However, the sources said it would be a different ball game if any BJP member attends Yeddyurappa’s Haveri convention on December 9, where he is scheduled to formally launch his political outfit - Karnataka Janata Party. 

Initiating disciplinary action seems to have become a matter of convenience in the State BJP. 

While the present KJP president Dhananjay Kumar was expelled from the BJP for anti-party activities, the party is yet to take action against three legislators, who have openly identified themselves with B Sriramulu’s BSR party for the last several months now.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)