Congmen sore over Shimoga, Chitradurga candidates

Congmen sore over Shimoga, Chitradurga candidates

A delegation of district Congress leaders from Shimoga and Chitradurga, on Saturday, met KPCC president G Parameshwara and demanded that the candidates announced for the two constituencies be changed.

The delegation from Shimoga sought that former minister Kumar Bangarappa be given the ticket to contest from Shimoga. 

Block Congress leaders of Shimoga, Sorab, Shikaripura, Tirthahalli and Bhadravati were part of the delegation.

The team of 200 members impressed upon Parameshwara that Kumar was a better candidate than Manjunath Bhandari, whose name has been announced by the central leadership. They pointed out that Kumar was more likely to win than Bhandari.

Former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa is in the fray from the constituency as the BJP candidate.

The delegation from Chitradurga opposed the candidature of N Chandrappa and demanded that the ticket be given to S Thippe­swamy.