Kolar CMC: Post-election, all eyes on the hot seat

Kolar CMC: Post-election, all eyes on the hot seat

Parties hold flocks together, keep their fingers crossed over reservation

Kolar CMC: Post-election, all eyes on the hot seat

After the hectic elections, the political parties are now lobbying to keep their winning folks from going astray.

Amid this, many former presidents and vice-presidents are disheartened as their re-run to the council has been thwarted by the voter. While a few of them hesitated to contest, others fielded their candidates and are now happy with the results.

Nasir Ahmed, who was the president in the first term, has been defeated by Congress candidate Abdul Sadik Pasha. He was contested from Varthur camp. V Prakash (another from Varthur team), who became the president after Ahmed, had fielded his brother Manjunath and won the election.

However, former president K N Madhusudhan Kumar had not contested the election. Former president and vice-president V K Rajesh of Varthur team has lost his battle against CPM candidate Narayanswami. Former president (for two terms) Nazia of Congress has now lost against JD(S) new face Saral Taj with a whopping 154 votes.

However, former vice-president S R Murali  Gowda of JD(S) is the only candidate to have the luck for this time. L Khalil of Varthur camp, who became the vice-president after Murali Gowda has lost against JD(S) candidate Nadim Hyder.

Winners now are curious to know the reservation for the president and vice-president post now. If the reservation of 2007 election is continued, members of other castes will not get a chance.

For, in the first term, the reservation in the president’s post was provided to Backward Classes ‘A’ and vice-president post to Scheduled Caste. In the second term, both the posts were reserved for general woman and general category, respectively.

In the last term, majority of the winners changed their parties and a few of them joined the Varthur camp.

In order to protect them, most of the parties are keeping their winning folk together, this time. Since the election results, the parties are stressing on the unity and has also issued strict instruction to party hoppers.

JD(S) is learnt to have directed all its folk against changing their parties and the Congress will convene a meeting soon in this regard. Union Minister of State K H Muniyappa will chair the meeting.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox