Elections to Urban Local Bodies in Karnataka announced

Elections to Urban Local Bodies in Karnataka announced

Polls will be held on 29 August 2018

Karnataka State Election Commissioner P N Sreenivachary. (Image source: http://karsec.gov.in)

Setting stage for the polls to local bodies, the Karnataka State Election Commission on Thursday announced the timetable for polls to 108 local bodies across the state.

Barring Shivamogga, Mysuru and Tumakuru districts where the matter is pending before the HC, the polls in other districts will be held on 29 August 2018.

The imminent polls will be a crucial test for the coalition government in Karnataka ahead of the Look Sabha polls in May 2019.

The polls to the remaining 100 local bodies will be held soon after completion of their term.

Announcing the timetable, State Election Commissioner P Sreenivasachari said that the code of conduct will come in force with immediate effect.

Deputy Commissioners of respective districts will issue the poll notification on 10 August and candidates can submit the nomination from the same day. The last date to submit the nomination would be 17 August. Candidates may withdraw their nomination on 20 August following scrutiny by the Election officials.

If need arises, re-poll will be held on 31 August. The counting of votes will be held on 1st September.

In the first phase as many as 29 City Municipalities, 53 Town Municipalities and 23 Town Panchayats will go to polls on 29 August.

According to the Election Commissioner, NOTA will be introduced for the first time in polls to local bodies during the imminent election.

The commission, according to Sreenivasachari, has already made elaborate poll preparations including final publication of voters list, appointment of election and expenditure monitoring officials.

As many as 40,000 security personnel will be deployed for the polls.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily