5 new records set, DK overall champs in State-level sports meet

The two-day State-level high school boys’ and girls’ sports meet, 2013-14, which concluded here at Mangala stadium on Sunday witnessed setting of five new records and Dakshina Kannada district lifting the overall champions trophy both in boys’ and girls’ category. The meet was organised by DDPI Mangalore and Canare Educational Institutions, Mangalore.

Five new records have been set in Shot put (girls-under 17), Shot put (boys-under 17), Discus throw (girls-under 17), 100 metre hurdles (girls-under 17) and 4x100 metre relay (boys). Niveditha P Savanth of Uthara Kannada district bettered records in shot put and discus throw (girls-under 17). Her shot reached 11.12 metre far bypassing the 10.92 metre record set by Elizabeth of the same district in 2007-08. In discus, Niveditha bettered her own record of 33.51 metre set in 2012 by 37.70 metre this time.

Masood Ahamad of Hassan district created new record in boys shot (13.63 metre) bettering that of Abhishek of Bangalore South district set in 2007-08 (13.43 metre). Sushma Ram of Bangalore South district set a new time of 15.8 second in 100 metre hurdles, making old the time of Priyanka S E of Vidyanagar sports' hostel, Bangalore (16.7 second). In 4x100 metre relay (boys), Vidyanagar sports’ hostel, Bangalore, replaced the record set by Chithradurga district in 2012-13 (45.30 sec) with 45 seconds.

DK champions

Dakshina Kannada district garnered 64 points in girls category and 42 points in boys category to become the overall champions.

Among girls, Niveditha P Savanth (Uttara Kannada), Simi N S (DK) and Venissa Carol Quadros (DK) secured 10 points each and shared the individual champion status. Among boys, Adrushappa Suresh Pangad (DK) and K Nirmalappa (Bellary) secured 11 points each and shared the individual champion trophy.

At the valedictory funtion, S S Kamath (Canara group of educational institutions), Businessman Vinaya S Mada, Sunil Shetty gave away the trophies. Udupi district fetched the prize for best performance in the march past followed by Chikmagalur district.

Comments (+)