Raj Cricket Tourney from April 19

Raj Cricket Tourney from April 19


Mythradevi Yeddyurappa Prathistan and Kapu Siddalingaswamy Fans Association have jointly organised Dr Raj Cup Tennis Ball Cricket Tourney from April 19 here.

Addressing media on Saturday, farmer leader Suresh said about 30 teams are expected to play, at Doddakere Grounds. A total of seven matches will be conducted. The winning team will pocket `  one lakh cash prize and Dr Rajkumar Cup, while Runner-up will get ` 50,000.

The team, which finishes third, will also be rewarded with `  25,000. The entry fee for the local teams is fixed at ` 5,000 and for outsiders it is ` 7,000.

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa will inaugurate the tournament on the day at 9 am in the presence of ‘Power Star’ Puneeth Rajkumar and Seer Sri Bhashyam of Yoganarasimhaswamy Temple.

Medical Education and District In-charge Minister S A Ramdas, CM’s personal assistant Kapu Siddalingaswamay, Mayor Sandesh Swamy, Zilla Panchayat member Kapu Siddaveerappa, Police Commissioner Sunil Agarwal, Karnataka Wine Shop Owners and Merchants Association President Guruswamy are among the chief guests.

Karnatak State Cricket Academy Chairman and former cricketer Anil Kumble, Excise Minister M P Renukacharya, Forest Minister C H Vijayashankar, KHB Chairman G T Devegowda will be present during the prize distribution function on April 24 at 5 pm.

Interested teams may contact V Yogesh on 9916934369, H Sucheendra on 9731256909 or C Mahesh on 7411487443.