Siddaramaiah's Ministry of Losses: A list

Siddaramaiah's Ministry of Losses: A list

PWD minister H C Mahadevappa lost at T Narsipur. DH file photo

In an embarrassment to the Congress party, many of its incumbent ministers have lost the polls, apart from the chief minister himself, who lost Chamundeshwari by more than 30,000 votes.

Prominent ministers who were defeated include H Anjaneya and H C Mahadevappa and Umashree. 

H Anjaneya lost Holalkere constituency with a margin of over 40,000 votes.

PWD minister H C Mahadevappa lost at T Narsipur, Sugar Minister Geetha Mahadev Prasad lost at Gundlupet, and animal husbandry minister A Manju was defeated at Arkalgud.

Forest Minister Ramanath Rai lost Bantwal to BJP’s U Rajesh Naik.

The list of ministers who lost included H M Revanna, who could not manage even a second place. He was behind H D Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal (Secular) and CP Yogeeshwara of the BJP in Channapatna.

Law Minister TB Jayachandra lost Sira to the JD(S) candidate B Sathyanarayana. Santosh Lad and Vinay Kulkarni also lost their seats. Higher Education Minister Basvaraj Rayaraddi, Medical Education Minister Sharan Prakash Patil lost from Yalburga in Koppal district and Sedam in Kalaburagi district, respectively.