Intl Congress of SFEC-2019 from Feb 8

The three-day sixth international Congress of Society For Ethnopharmacology, India (SFEC-2019) will be jointly organised by Manipal College of Pharmaceutical Sciences (MCOPS), Centre for Integrative Medicine and Research (CIMR) and Manipal Academy of Higher Education, (MAHE) Manipal, in association with Society for Ethnopharmacology, India at Manipal from February 8 to 10.

Addressing mediapersons here, Organising Chairman Dr N Udupa said, “The Congress will highlight several crucial and contemporary issues on Ethnomedicine, Ethnopharmacology and Medicinal Plant Research by renowned scientists across the globe.  Several renowned scientists from India and different countries like Germany, South Africa, Canada, Australia, Switzerland, Nigeria, Bangladesh, Hong Kong Mauritius etc., will be deliberating on the know-how of medicinal plant research and ethnic practices and their importance.”  

Udupa said, “The three-day Congress will also showcase research in traditional systems by scientific community across India and abroad. About 80 traditional practitioners from all over India will attend the Congress. Over 200 posters will also be presented. The best posters will be awarded. Nearly 600 delegates are expected to participate in the Congress which this year is dedicated to the memory of Dr Pratim Banerji, Former President, SFE-India.”

This Congress will focus on medicinal plants and traditional medicine - Ethnopharmacology at the interface of local and global needs. It will also include a special programme of Synergy Forum 2019 for the promotion and development of Synergy research in Traditional Medicine, Medicinal Plant Research and Ethnopharmacology Conclave on “Interactive Meet with Traditional Healers for Documentation of Local Health Traditions (LHTs) and Ethno Medical Practices (EMPs), he said.

Society for Ethnopharmacology, India (SFE – India) was constituted in 2013 and affiliated to the International Society for Ethnopharmacology (ISE). The Society’s mission is to promote and develop traditional medicine and medicinal plants with the major highlights on “Globalising Local kKowledge and Localizing Global Technologies”.

Every year, prominent scientists, academicians and industrial professional are honoured for their contribution in the area of Ethnopharmacology and medicinal plant research.

The awardees this year are: Dr M S Valiathan, former vice chancellor of MAHE; Dr Manju Sharma, Distinguished Women Scientist Chair, NASI, India; Dr N Udupa, Director Research, MAHE; Dr J N (Kobus) Eloff, University of Pretoria, South Africa; Dr Tapan K Mukherjee, Former Scientist, CSIR-NISCAIR, New Delhi; Dr Anand K Choudhary, IIT, BHU, Varanasi; Dabur India Ltd Dr P L N G Rao; Dr Poorina Baliga, Pro-Vice Chancellors MAHE; Dr Bhushan Patwardhan, Vice Chairman, UGC, New Delhi and Prof Pulok K Mukherjee, Secretary, SFE-India.

Comments (+)