Manipal Marathon 2019: 7,000 runners register

Manipal Marathon 2019: 7,000 runners register

Over 7,000 runners have already registered for the 2019 edition of Manipal Marathon, to be held on February 17.

“The number of participants to the marathon, organised by Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE) and Udupi District Athletic Association, is expected to exceed 10,000,” MAHE Sports Secretary Dr Vinod Nayak said.

The theme of this year’s marathon is ‘Mental Health Awareness’, he added.

“Six runners from Sri Lanka and eight from Kenya have registered for the half marathon. Manipal Marathon, covering 21 kms, carries a prize money of Rs 50,000, Rs 30,000 and Rs 15,000 for top three winners,” Dr Nayak said.

Few Ethiopian runners are also expected to compete in the event. “We have entries from all over the country and a huge number of MAHE students will also be participating in the event,” he said.

With only three days to go, all arrangements are being finalised to ensure a hassle-free event. Commander Abhilash Tomy of Indian Navy (the only Asian to have participated in the Golden Globe Race 2018, which entailed a solo circumnavigation of the globe in a non-motorised sail boat) will also be present.

The route has been finalised and all water stations identified. From Manipal the runners will take the Perampalli Road and then to Ambagilu and run all the way up to Karavali Bypass.  They will reach Big Bazaar via SP Office and Kinimulki via Bananje Road. The runners will take the KM Marg and move on to Kalsanka and return to Manipal.

“The race will be flagged off at 6 am from the University building by ICICI (South) Head Viral Rupani,” said Dr Nayak. The three other races, 10 km, 5 km and 3 km will also be flagged off from the same place with a 15-minute interval. As in the past, Volunteer Services Organisation will set up games and stalls at KMC Greens for entertainment.

In addition, there will also be “Laughter Yoga” for health and happiness by Laughter Guru Dr Madan Kataria, according to VSO (Volunteer Service organisation) Coordinator Dr Anup Naha.