Around 40 percent vote in Maharashtra

Last Updated 17 April 2014, 12:33 IST

An average 31.43 per cent polling was recorded till 1 PM in the 19 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra where second phase of polling is being held today.

The highest voter turnout so far was recorded in Kolhapur at 40.65 per cent, followed by Hathkanangale in Western Maharashtra at 39.80 per cent.

Among early voters were Union Home Minister and Congress candidate in Solapur Sushilkumar Shinde and NCP nominee in Pune district's Baramati constituency Supriya Sule, daughter of party chief Sharad Pawar.

Former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan, who had to quit three years ago over the alleged involvement in the Adarsh Housing scam, cast his vote around 8.30 AM at a booth in Shivaji Nagar are of Nanded city. He was accompanied by his wife and other family members.

Social activist Anna Hazare, who also cast his vote in the morning in his native Ralegan Siddhi village in Ahmednagar district, while talking to PTI asked the voters to avoid voting for candidates with criminal background and corruption charges.

"Voters can choose the option Of 'NOTA' (none of the above) if no candidate is eligible," Hazare said.

BJP's Gopinath Munde, who is seeking a second term as MP from Beed, also cast his vote at a booth in Nathra village of Parli tehsil in the district.

Young voters as well as senior citizens were seen lining up enthusiastically since early morning in Pune city which experienced a drizzle in the wee hours.

There were also reports of peaceful polling from Shirdi and Kolhapur.
No untoward incident was reported so far.

The constituency wise voting percentage till 1 PM is: Hingoli 30.65 pc, Nanded 33 pc, Parbhani 35.29 pc, Maval 28.90 pc, Pune 25.83 pc, Baramati 20.53 pc, Shirur 32.58 pc, Ahmednagar 21 pc, Shirdi 21 pc, Beed 36.96 pc, Osmanabad 36.41 pc, Latur 32.70 pc, Solapur 31.10 pc, Madha 35.14 pc, Sangli 31.48 pc, Satara 31.23 pc, Ratnagiri- Sindhudurg 32.94 pc, Kolhapur 40.65 pc and Hatkanangle 39.80 pc.

(Published 17 April 2014, 06:01 IST)

Follow us on