BJP wants panels on its terms

BJP wants panels on its terms

HOT DEBATE: Mayor S K Nataraj Chairing BBMP general body meeting in Bangalore on Friday. Deputy Mayor Dyananda and Commissioner Siddaiah are seen. DH PHOTO

Speaking to reporters here, Mayor S K Nataraj said the term of the Standing Committees could indeed be shortened if the matter goes to Court over legalities of having a one-year tenure.

“We are currently envisaging a one-year term for the Standing Committees, but there are possibilities of the matter going to court. In such a case, wherein there might be objections over the extended term of the Committees till October next year, we will have to shorten the term to six months, coterminus with the Mayor’s term,” he said.

Meanwhile, BJP sources said the probable list of candidates to head most committees have been decided with most senior leaders to become chairpersons the committees with the term extending till November 2011.

According to the insiders, L Srinivas, Corporator from Padmanabha Nagar is tipped to be the chairman for the Ward Level Works committee along with senior BJP leader Ravindra to head the Major Works standing committee. It is learnt that B V Ganesh from Chamrajpet is to head the standing committee on Education, M Nagaraj from Gangenhalli will be at the helm of affairs at the Town Planning Standing Committee.

 The committee on health is likely to be headed by B S Manjunath Reddy from Bommanahalli and Sukumar from Vijinapura to head Social Justice standing committee. Lakshmi Kanth Reddy has been nominated to head the Administrative Reforms committee, D Venkateshmurthy as chairman for Appeals Committee and Market to be headed by H Padmaraj from Basaveshwaranagar ward.