Sushil Kumar, Mary Kom get top honours at Sahara awards

Indian Davis cup team was named the team of the year. Rifle shooter Gagan Narang, who picked up four gold medals in the Commonwealth Games in Delhi earlier this month, and young woman archer Deepika Kumari, who bagged two gold medals in the Games, were declared best male and female athletes in the multi-sport extravaganza.

These were two special awards for performances outside the period under consideration.
Five-time world boxing champion Mary Kom was named the sportswoman of the year and world wrestling champion Kumar was honoured as the sportsman of the year at the function here.

While Sachin Tendulkar was named the cricketer of the year, the best woman cricketer of the year award was bagged by former national captain Mithali Raj. Tendulkar was also presented the Icon of The Millennium award.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)