Haryana in control over Karnataka

Hosts snatch 97-run lead

Rohtak: Karnataka’s failure with the bat in the first innings may just be coming back to haunt them against Haryana. After managing just 222 all out, admittedly under helpful bowling conditions, Karnataka allowed their opponents to snatch a near-hundred lead in their second Group ‘B’ Ranji Trophy Super League match here on Friday.

Overnight 146/3, the hosts rode on Hemang Badani’s patient knock as they finished their innings at 319 all out, a handy lead of 97 runs. Badani struck 88 (194b, 7x4, 2x6) while the rest of batsmen chipped in with cameos to power Haryana to a healthy total.   

At close on the third and penultimate day of the match, Karnataka had reached 72 for the loss of opener CM Gautam when the umpires decided to call the play off due to bad light. The visitors still need to score 25 runs to make Haryana bat again. But Karnataka’s hopes of a full complement of points, what with first-innings hounours out of the way, may be asking for too much.

The day began on a promising note for Karnataka who earned an early breakthrough in the form overnight batsman Nitin Saini (64, 177b, 3x4), who could add only seven more runs to his overnight total. But once Badani knuckled down, things got difficult for the visiting attack.

Score Board

Karnataka (I Innings): 222.
Haryana (I Innings, O/n: 146/3): 319 all out in 108.2 overs  (Nitin Saini c Gautam b Mithun 64, Rahul Dewan c Pandey b Mithun 5, Sunny Singh c Vinay Kumar b Joshi 53, Manav Sharma c Uthappa b Joshi 1, Hemang Badani lbw Vinay Kumar 88, Dhruv Singh b Vinay Kumar 2, Joginder Sharma c Gautam b Aravind 10, Sachin Rana b Patel 18, Yatharth Tomar c Vinay Kumar b Patel 18, Yuzvendra Chahal (not out) 25, Sanjay Budhwar b Joshi 16. Extras (B- 10, lb-6, W-1, nb-2) 19. Total (all out, 108.2 overs) 319.
Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-96, 3-98, 4-153, 5-156, 6-182, 7-225, 8-265, 9-281.
Bowling: Vinay Kumar 21-4-57-2, A Mithun 22-5-61-2, S Aravind 16-3-39-1, Sunil Joshi 25.2-1-64-3, Udit Patel 18-0-64-2, Amit Verma 6-0-18-0.
Karnataka (II Innings): KB Pawan (batting) 31, CM Gautam lbw Chahal 34, Ganesh Satish (batting) 0. Extras (B-4, lb-3) 7. Total (for one wkt, 32 overs) 72.
Fall of wicket: 1-67.
Bowling: Joginder Sharma 6-2-11-0, Sanjay Budhwar 10-3-21-0, Sachin Rana 7-0-19-0, Yatharth Tomar 1-0-2-0, Yuzvendra Chahal 4-2-4-1, Dhruv Singh 4-1-8-0.

Comments (+)