India grouped alongside SA in next year's World T20

India grouped alongside SA in next year's World T20

Holders Pakistan are in Group A where they will have to ward off the challenges from Bangladesh and Australia to advance in the event starting April 30, according to the 2010 World Twenty20 Match schedule announced by the International Cricket Council on Sunday.
Runners up Sri Lanka constitute the Group C with New Zealand and Zimbabwe while the hosts West Indies, England and a second qualifying team will comprise the Group D.

The West Indies will play the second qualifying team in the opening match of the biennial event, which is being staged next year immediately after its 2009 England edition to prevent its clash with the 2011 ODI World Cup in the subcontinent.

India, who were knocked out in the Super Eight stage of the second edition, are lined up to play the first qualifiers in their opener, slated on May 1, which will be the second day of the 17-day tournament.

The tournament will feature as many as 27 matches with the semifinals being played on May 13 and 14 and final slated on May 16.

For the simultaneously played women’s event, teams have been divided into two groups -- ‘A’ and ‘B’.

Semifinallists India are in Group B with New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Pakistan while England, Australia, the West Indies and South Africa make the Group A.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)