B-form leads to disappointment

Amidst much chaos and commotion, nominations were filed in the seven zilla panchayat constituencies in the taluk on Wednesday.

Sixty-one candidates filed nominations in the seven zilla panchayat constituencies in the taluk while 133 nominations were filed for the 25 taluk panchayat constituencies on Wednesday.

In the constituencies in the taluk reserved for Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe candidates, all prominent parties forwent both left-hand and right-hand sections and preferred members of the Bovi community to give B-forms.

Former vice-president of Zilla Panchayat M S Anand, who has been contributing to the work and popularity of the JD(S) for the last 15 years, was denied a ticket at the last minute. In turn, Byadabele Arun was given a B-form.

The BJP has given tickets to two candidates in the Chalaganahalli taluk panchayat constituency.

M Rajendra of Budikote, who tried for a Congress ticket till late Tuesday night, was invited by the JD(S) to become a member of the party for the elections.

Rebels increase

The number of rebel candidates shot up since B P Venkatamuniyappa as well as his supporters were denied tickets for the elections.

Supporters of former minister Srinivasa Gowda and Srikrishna were given tickets, thereby denying supporters of M S Anand and Munimarappa an opportunity  to contest the elections.

No confusion

The Congress issued B-forms in time, and avoided any confusion or disappointment among its members regarding filing of the papers.

Yet, former Zilla Panchayat vice-president Venkatarama Reddy was denied a ticket for the current polls.

The BJP did not issue B-forms till afternoon on Wednesday. Many candidates had to submit their nominations without the B-forms.

Comments (+)