Jawalkar pockets crown

Jawalkar pockets crown

Sindhu Bharadwaj clinches girls U-16 title

Young champions Winners of the W Suresh Kumar memorial State-ranking badminton  tournament in Bangalore on Tuesday. BACK ROW (L-R): Rajas Jawalkar (boys U-16), Sudeep Suresh (boys U-13), Ashwini Bhat (girls U-10), Sindhu Bharadwaj (girls U-16). FRONT ROW: BM Rahul (boys U-10) and Mahima Aggarwal (girls U-13). DH photo

Jawalkar overcame a second-game lapse to clinch the final match 21-10, 18-21, 21-10. Jawalkar took the first game easily but lost the momentum after that losing the second 18-21. However, Jawalkar regained composure in the decider to seal the game 21-10.
Jawalkar also completed a double when he paired up with Abhishek Yeligar to beat Kaustubh Narayan and Harshith Agarwal 21-16, 21-18 in the doubles title round.

The corresponding singles title in the girls’ section was won by Sindhu Bharadwaj.
Sindhu also had to battle it out in three games against Reshma Karthik before eventually winning 12-21, 21-15, 21-9.

Sindhu rallied splendidly after losing the first set 12-21, but she regained the rhythm in the subsequent two sets as Reshma ran out of steam, falling behind her opponent.
Sudeep Suresh defeated Mithun Manjunath 21-19, 22-20 in the summit clash to take home the boys’ under-13 title.

DH News Service
Results (all finals):
Boys: U-16: Rajas Jawalkar bt S Siddarth 21-10, 18-21, 21-10.
Doubles: Rajas J/ Abhishek Yeligar bt Kaustubh Narayan/ Harshith Agarwal 21-16, 21-18.
U-13: Sudeep Suresh bt Mithun Manjunath 21-19, 22-20.
Girls: U-16: Sindhu Bharadwaj bt Reshma Karthik 12-21, 21-15, 21-9.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)