Campaigning ends for ZP, TP elections

The electoral fortunes of 9,595 candidates who are in the fray for 595 ZP and 2,163 TP seats, will be decided by the 1.54 crore electorate. Candidates of all three major political parties -- the BJP, the Congress and the JD(S) -- are locked in a fierce contest in Chikmaglaur, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar,  Bagalkot, Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, Uttara Kannada, Davangere, Koppal Belgaum and Bijapur.

One candidate each of the BJP in Nanjanagud and Honnavar taluk panchayats have been elected unopposed. The State poll panel has ordered repolling on Friday at one booth each in Yadgir and Tumkur districts, two booths in Chikkaballapur district and eight in Bellary district.

Voting for the second phase will take place between 7 am and 5 pm. Counting of votes is scheduled for January 4.

Comments (+)