VTU panel to probe challenge valuation

VTU panel to probe challenge valuation

The panel will consist of four members, two from the Executive Council and two from the Academic senate. The panel will be headed by Dean (Engineering) P Martin Jebaraj.

The panel has been given a mandate to investigate the challenge valuation results from 2003.

Speaking to Deccan Herald, VTU Vice-Chancellor Dr H Maheshappa said: “The panel will look into all allegations concerning challenge valuation since the inception of the programme from 2003 and submit its report in two months.”

The decision came after the State government issued a notice under the Visvesvaraya Technological University Act to reply to allegations raised by two elected representatives.
Earlier, the State government had formed a four-member committee to look into the alleged scandal, but it now appears that the government would await the results of the probe by the panel before embarking on further action.

Constituent college

The Executive Council has accepted the transfer of UBDT College of Engineering from Davangere University to Visvesvaraya Technological University as its constituent college. The State government has issued an order to transfer the college to VTU, since it does not have a constituent college so far.

“This is a feather in VTU’s cap. With a constituent college, we can now seek recognition from the University Grants Commission under Section 12(b) and be eligible for funds,” the vice chancellor said.