Young, old alike run against corruption

Young, old alike run against corruption

Colourful end: Golgappa eating contest, fashion show, rock show set the mood

Deccan Herald is the media partner for ‘techNIEks’.

The marathon that began at the NIE Golden Jubilee campus, witnessed  participation of over  350 people that included students, veterans and also a few professionals, who passed through ISCKON Temple Road, Vishwamanava Double Road, Kukkarahalli Road, underpass opposite Fire Brigade, Krishnaraja Boulevard Road, M G Road, Ramanuja Road before culminating at the college premises after covering 15 km.

While professional athletes surged ahead with zeal, a few students thought it wise to head back to their hostel which was en route, rather than taking the whole route. A few others gave up in the middle complaining fatigue.

The texting bug had bitten the youngsters so deep that a few of them were seen sending SMS even as they participated in the marathon. Traffic policemen were deployed throughout the route, ensuring that athletes were given the way of the road. The other competitions that attracted the youngsters were golgappa eating and rock show. Teams from Bangalore and Mysore participated in the rock show. However, crowds surged in to listen to ‘Strange Brew’, a band from Bangalore.

‘TechNIEks’ concluded with cultural programmes including various dances and skits  organised in the evening.

Marathon winners

Men’s section: Punith M (first), Harish A S (second) and Sathish Kumar (third). Ponappa and Srikantha bagged the fourth and fifth places.

Women’s section: Smitha C (first), Meghana K R (second), Pratibha B Naik (third).
Veteran Men’s section: Yogendra M (first), H R Ramaswamy (second), Mahadevaswamy K (third).

Veteran Women’s section: P C Parvathi (first), Annapurna V K (second).

Winners - other contests

Counterstrike: Vishvesh Shenoy; C-Coding: Prabhat (first) 2) Deemanth (second); Pictionary: Arjun, Anudeep and Vidhur (first); Dil Dosti Etc: Ashwar and Nikhi (first); Cadd 3D modelling: Swaroop and Suhas (first).

Documentary: Dileep Kumar K J, Bangalore (first); Treasure Hunt: Sharath, Yuvaraja’s College (first); Just A Minute: Amit Vikram Rajsimha (first); SMS Contest: Aditya S (first); Greese Munkeys: Sanjay, Vishwar; CNC Coding: Sandesh and Dinesh (first); Sports Quiz: Praveen Rao (first), Vignesh and Sanath (joint second).

India Quiz: Parichay and Praveen (first); Short story writing: Sandhya (first); Minute to win it: Keshav Prasad (first).