ECBC for commercial buildings mandatory for eight states from FY 12

The Governments of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and West Bengal will also have to make ECBC mandatory for any new construction of commercial buildings coming up in their states from April 2011 onwards, a senior official said.

"From the coming financial year (2011-12), these eight states will have to implement the ECBC norms in all the new commercial constructions," BEE Director General, Ajay Mathur, told reporters on the sidelines of a seminar organised by the Bombay Chamber of Commerce and Industry, here.

The need for energy will increase three-times over the next 15-years in order to sustain development, he said.

"Energy efficiency and renewables are key ingredients of a green energy future. Adoption of energy efficiency practices will also help reduce costs for energy users, energy imports of countries, and result in reduction in pollution," Mathur said.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0