Congress evolves strategy to regain its lost ground

Bangarpet bypoll: Parties sparing no effort to win
Last Updated 29 March 2011, 17:54 IST

However, over the years, the party began to lose its ground as the electorates chose other parties over the Congress.

The constituency has seen 13 Assembly elections till now of which the Congress has won eight times, JD(S) 2, Janata Dal 1, BJP 1 and an independent candidate.

The State’s first Chief Minister K C Reddy hails from the constituency. Besides, E Narayangowda, Kolar Gold Fields Urban Development Authority chairman Doreswami Naidy and others notable leaders from the Congress have been elected from here.

In the present election, BJP candidate M Narayanswami has earlier contested on 1989 and 1999 and was elected twice from Janata Dal. He was even elected from Congress in 2008. He is facing stiff competition from JD(S) candidate C Venkateshappa.

Venkateshappa earlier was elected thrice from Congress - 1978, 1985 and 1999. But ironically, this time, both of them are campaigning against the Congress, that once they belonged to.

With the by-poll round the corner here, the bigwigs from the Congress party are campaigning here as an indication to regain their lost ground. But even the JD(S) and BJP too are also leaving no stone unturned to ensure their victory in this by-poll.

However, only time will tell, which party will be the favourite this time.

Winners from the constituency

1952 - K C Reddy (Cong)
1957 - E Narayanreddy (Cong)
1962 - E Narayan Gowda (Cong)
1967 - E Narayan Gowda (Cong)
1972 - Doreswami Naidu (Independent)
1978 - C Venkateshappa (Cong)
1983 - C Venkateshappa (Cong)
1985 - A Channappa (JD)
1989 - M Narayanswami (JD)
1994 - M Narayanswami (JD)
1999 - C Venkateshappa (Cong)
2004 - B P Munivenkatappa (BJP)
2008 - M Narayanswami (Cong)

(Published 29 March 2011, 17:53 IST)

Follow us on