Manudev storms into last 8

Manudev storms into last 8

Bhaskar scores over Naveen to make quarters

FOCUSED B Bhaskar is poised to score against K S Naveen in the State-ranking snooker tourney on Wednesday. DH PHOTO

Seemingly in control after clinching the opening two frames 56-32, 55-28, Manudev’s march was brought to a brief halt when Bopanna pulled things even at 2-2 by taking the third and fourth 50-43, 55-06. But, Manudev stepped up the gas when it mattered most, winning the decider 72-38 at the KSBA hall.

With both players needing a victory to stay alive in the tournament, an entertaining clash was always on cards. In an attempt to snooker Manudev in the opening frame, Bopanna himself fell into the trap that led him into committing three successive fouls to trail 25-42.
Fouls continued to pour even in the second for Bopanna, while Manudev found no problems with his potting. Leading 36-28, Manudev raced away with some fine play to take a 2-0 lead. Just when things were slipping away, Bopanna pulled himself together to prevail in a tense black-ball finish for the third before stamping his authority in the fourth in clinical fashion and pushing the contest into the decider. With the game hanging in balance at 34-34, Manudev came up with a break of 14. He sealed victory by potting the blue.

Results: Seniors: IH Manudev bt Sajan Bopanna 3-2 (56-32, 55-28, 43-50, 06-55, 72-38); L Nagaraj bt Md Arshad 3-2 (38-52, 11-68, 81-35, 57-28, 63-54); Anand HE w/o KS Naveen; B Bhaskar bt KS Naveen 3-0 (74-13, 56-19, 48-43); Yogesh M bt A Satish Kumar 3-2 (24-70, 67-39, 23-55, 62-37, 59-28); D Raj Kumar bt Ajay Bhushan 3-1 (64-44, 70-32, 32-66, 56-41); MS Arun bt Vinay Katrela 3-2 (54-15, 81-39, 33-84, 25-72, 84-36); BVS Murthy bt Balaji Reddy 3-2 (62-52, 67-36, 36-63, 29-87, 52-48); KS Naveen bt Sajan Bopanna 3-2 (43-77, 79-48, 16-64, 65-33).

Quarterfinalists: Arun, Bhaskar, Balaji, Raj Kumar, Manudev, Katrela, Bhushan, Murthy.
Juniors: Mundir Sherazi bt Nehul 3-0 (57-20, 77-27, 60-47); Zia Ur Rehman bt Rahil 3-1 (49-52, 45-38, 64-40, 60-32); Hariharan KB bt Suraj Singh 3-1 (62-18, 68(66)-01, 47-56, 67-38); Amit Bhushan bt TN Kunal 3-0 (44-39, 53-09, 61-34).
Semifinalists: Sherazi, Bhushan, Hariharan, Rehman.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)