Ajith, Shruthi impress

Ajith, Shruthi impress

 Catch me if you can: Shruthi S Shetty (right) of Sahyadri College of Engineering powers her way to 400M gold. DH photoAjith Kumar ran splendidly to pocket the 400M gold in an impressive time of 53.3S, leaving second-placed silver medallist Bipin Krishna of SCEM over a second behind with a time of 54.5S. Shamanth Kestur of Siddaganga Institute of Technology, Tumkur bagged the bronze.

19-yr-old Ajith, who turned in a personal best, was expectedly ecstatic with his performance. “ I had expected a good performance here and winning the gold is great,’’ he said.

In the women’s 400M, Shruthi S Shetty toopk home the gold medal in 1:04.7. The 18-yr-old from Mangalore who was defending her title she won last was said she was happy to come through with a victory. “ I knew i could win the gold even though Sunitha (Kumari BK) was a tough rival,’’ she said. 

Sunitha of Reva Institute of Technology grabbed the silver (1:06.4) and Saniya T of GIT, Belgaum settled for bronze.

Results: Men: 400M: Ajith Kumar A (TTIT) 53.3 seconds, 1; Bipin Krishna R (SCEM) 54.5, 2; Shamanth Kestur (SIT) 54.6, 3.

20 km walk: Rachit Anu (KLECE) 2:13:50.4, 1; Kiran Kumar G (KIT) 2:13:52.5, 2; Jitendra Kumar BS (APSCE) 2:14:17, 3.

4X400M relay: (MSRIT) 3:41.1, 1; (SCEM) 3:41.24, 2; (TTIT) 3:41.26, 3.
Discus throw: Ashton W Coelho (SCEM) 36.40 metres, 1; Shanmuka A Chiloji (JNNCE) 32.83, 2; Robin K Francis (BNMIT) 31.44, 3.

High jump: Sachin Kumar BA (NMAMIT) 1.82, 1; Tharanath Shetty (SCEM) 1.82, 2; Darshan BV (BEC) 1.69, 3.

Javelin throw: Chetan (VCET) 47.23, 1; Mohammed Faran (MVJCE) 46.49, 2; Vishith D Amin (SCEM) 45.21, 3.

Women: 100M hurdles: Anvitha N (BIT) 20.8 seconds, 1; Zeba Ali (SJEC) 21, 2; Ojal Sarah Paul (MVIT) 21.1, 3.

400M: Shruthi S Shetty (SCEM) 1:04.7, 1; Sunitha Kumari BK (RITM) 1:06.4, 2; Saniya T (GIT) 1:09.4, 3.

4X400M relay: (SCEM) 4:47.4, 1; (MVIT) 4:47.4, 2; Rekha S (RITM) 5:15.2, 3.
Long jump: Nisha Prakash (MSRIT) 5.04M, 1; Soumya S (BNMIT) 4.78, 2; Sneha PJ (DBIT), 3.

Discus throw: Sneha M (CEC) 31.61, 1; Elizabeth Cheriyan (SJEC) 28.25, 2; Ashwini Kumari B (SCEM) 24.63, 3.