Protesters to lay siege to TP office on April 19

Protesters to lay siege to TP office on April 19

The event, which began on April 6, concluded on Saturday.

The campaign against corruption and the rallies were held protesting failure of the State and Central governments to check the skyrocketing prices of essential commodies and initiate anti-corruption measures.
Exalted over the success of the jatha, the organisations have decided to lay siege to the taluk offices across the district on April 19.
CPM district unit secretary G V Sriramareddy told reporters here on Saturday that State and the Centre have failed to respond to people’s problems and the public were fed up.

Villages covered

The jatha covered more than thousand villages in six taluks. The protesters interacted with the farmers and listened to their grievances.
Corruption and inflation have made life miserable for citizens and the governments’ indifference towards their problems have only rubbed salt to their injuries, he said.

The ruling parties have failed to keep the promises they made during the electioneering, he alleged.

“Houseless don’t get sites; destitues have no houses; gram panchayat workers have no job security; the citizens have begun to lose their faith in the administration,” he rued.

The protesters’ demands include regularisation of services of GP workers with 10 years of service; employment for ASHA and anganwasdi workers and  measures to check harassment of women.

Taluk offices in Chintamani, Gauribidanur, Shidlaghatta, Bagepalli and Gudibande will be locked and in Chikkballapur, office of the assistant commissioner will be laid siege to, Sriramareddy said.

Members of the Karnataka Pranta Raita Sangha, CITU Gram Panchayat Employees’ Assocaiton, Asha workers’ association, Aksharadasoha and Anganwadi workers’ Association, Janawadi Mahila Sanghatane and Indian Democratic Youth Association will participate in the protest.

Leaders of the Karnataka Pranta Raita Sangha B N Munikrishnappa, Kempanna, Indian Democratic Youth Association district unit secretary M P Munivenkatappa were present on the occasion.