Vital lead for Combined

Presidents XI hold fancied Bangalore Zone

bowled him Combined XI’s Raju Bhatkal (right) clean bowls City XI’s Shoaib Manager on the third day of the Safi Darashah cricket tournament in Bangalore on Thursday. DH photo Resuming at their overnight 262 for six, Combined XI ended the play at 375 for nine in 114 overs. The main feature of their innings was a fifty from Abrar Kazi.

Kazi, who was unbeaten on 42 overnight, went on to make a fine 61 that played a huge part in the Combined XI surge. Overnight not out batsman Raju Bhatkal too made a crucial 37 while S Aravind (28) chipped in with some late runs as Combined XI added a further 113 runs to their total for an innings lead of 70 runs.

Left-arm spinner DV Anish was the most successful bowler for City XI returning with a haul of six for 125.

In their second innings, City XI could not come up with any better show, scoring 102 for five in the possible 44 overs.

K V Bharath top-scored with an unbeaten 31 while S Aravind took 2 for 24.
At the IAF grounds, Bangalore Zone drew with President’s XI. Bangalore, who had already taken the first innings lead, produced another fine show in their second essay, notching up 250 for six before declaring their innings closed.

C M Goutham (67) and Chetan William (50 n.o) were the chief scorers for them. Sinan Adbul Qadir grabbed three wickets for President’s XI.

President’s came up with a better performance with the bat in the second innings registering 134 for one in 22 overs, but the effort came a bit late to make any impact on the game. Vinay Uthappa (57) and C B Karthik (50 n.o) scored fifties to lead the way for President’s XI.

Brief scores: At KSCA: City XI: 305 all out in 103.4 overs and 102/5 in 44 overs (K V Bharath 31 n.o, P Yogesh 23 n.o; S Aravind 2-24) drew with Combined XI: 375/9 in 114 overs (Abrar Kazi 61, Raju Bhatkal 37, S Aravind 28, D V Anish 6-125, S L Akshay 2-65)
At IAF: Bangalore Zone: 290 all out in 83.4 overs and 250/6 decl in 70 overs (C M Goutham 67, Chetan William 50 n.o, Sadiq Kirmani 24, Pawan Deshpande 21; N C Aiyappa 2-55, Sinan Abdul Qadir 3-47) drew with President’s XI: 194 all out in 75 overs and 134/1 in 22 overs ( Vinay Uthappa 57, C B Karthik 50 n.o).

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0