Congress storms back to power for third time in Assam

Congress storms back to power for third time in Assam

Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi not only won by a huge margin of 54,514 votes, but also ensured that most of his cabinet colleagues emerged victorious.

The only disappointment for the Congress was the defeat of two ministers - Culture and Sports Minister Bharat Chandra Narah from Dhakuakhana and Irrigation Minister Nurjamal Sarkar from Bishwanath.

Main opposition Asom Gana Parishad, with 24 MLAs in the last Assembly, was virtually wiped out and managed to get nine seats only and is leading in one.

The AGP suffered massive reverses with its top leaders, including party president Chandra Mohan Patowary and former chief minister Prafulla Mahanta, former party president Brindabon Goswami and vice-president Thaneswar Boro, biting the dust.

Mahanta managed to retain the Baharampur seat for the sixth consecutive term.
The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) is emerging as the largest opposition party winning 18 seats and leading in three others, while Congress ally Bodoland Peoples' Front (BPF), won 11 seats and leading in one seat.

BJP, which had won ten seats in the 2006 polls, has managed to win five seats and is leading in three more. The party's state unit president Ranjit Dutta was trounced in Behali.
All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) has won one seat.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)