Anirban, Poojitha given pride of place in four-day event

Anirban, Poojitha given pride of place in four-day event

Table tennis State-ranking tournament

The four-day meet which concludes on Sunday will have 562 players competing in six different categories.

The events will be held in the mini cadet (under-10), cadet (under-12), sub-junior (under-14), junior (under-17), youth (under-21) and senior categories, the organisers said at a press conference held at the Press Club of Bangalore on Wednesday.

The winners in the men’s section will receive Rs 5000 and the women’s section topper will get Rs 4000. The meet will have a total prize money of Rs 62450.

Davis Cupper Rohan Bopanna, who is the Grade ‘A’ Officer with IOCL, while attending the press meet said “It is good for the development of the sport that such tournaments are happening in the State. It will surely give the youngsters a chance to show their talent,” said Bopanna.

Meanwhile, Karnataka Table Tennis Association has decided to conduct district-level coaching camps with the help of State players, said a release from KTTA. The release also said it will hold various inter-school and inter-district tournaments this year. The South Zone championship will be held in November.

Top seeds: Men: Anirban Tarafdar (CB). Women: Poojitha N (Hor).
Youth boys: C P Karthik (BNM). Youth girls: Shubhashree C (SAI).
Junior boys: V P Charan (SAI). Junior girls: Shubhashree C (SAI).
Sub-junior boys: Shreyal K Telang (BNM). Sub-junior girls: Maithreyi Bailoor (BGM).
Cadet boys: Amogh Athani (MTTC). Cadet girls: Aiswarya N (Star).
Mini cadet boys: Bhuvanesh Reddy (OMMTI). Mini cadet girls: M V Spoorthy (HTTA).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)