Honour awaits the best

Honour awaits the best

Great Platform

Star-studded: Jogi, Tara, Dwarakish and Anup.

With over 132 films released last year, an eminent jury of four have nominated around 150 artistes under 29 categories.

Apart from this, five special awards will be selected by the viewers and film buffs across the State through a voting ballot and through SMS. Announcing the awards recently, few of the jury members — actress Tara, film-maker Dwarakish, writer Jogi — along with Raghavendra Rajkumar and Anup Chandrashekhar, the business head of the channel, expressed their desire to award the best in the Kannada film industry.

 “In order to collect  votes from across the State, we have organised a special ‘Fans Express Canter Van’, which will go on a tour to all the major cities in the State,” said Anup.

Dwarakish said that more than being a jury member, he was happy that he got the opportunity to see so many good films this year. “While analysing and selecting the nominations, we found it really tough because there are so many good technicians and artistes in the industry. I found myself rediscovering the new era of film-making and subjects that young directors are dealing with these days,” he said.

Agreed Tara, “There is good cinema out there and people who have worked behind such brilliant films need to be recognised and supported.” Raghavendra Rajkumar added that such awards will provide a great platform for artistes and technicians and encourage the new generation to do better.

“What’s really nice is that apart from having well-known people in the jury, there is also a section for fans to voice their opinion,” he added. The ‘Suvarna Film Awards 2010’ will be held on June 25 at the Palace Grounds.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)