Nairmalya Rathna award given away

Nairmalya Rathna award given away

Hosangadi shines as a model

Karnataka Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker N Yogish Bhat handing over a cheque for Rs 30 lakh to Zilla Panchayat In charge CEO Shivrame Gowda and ZP President Shailaja Bhat at the Nairmalya Rathan award ceremony held at Zilla Panchayat on Monday. DH Photo

Elaborating on this new programme after giving away Nairmalya Rathan awards to the winning GPS, District incharge Minister Krishna J Palemar said that the district will take strict stand against those harming the beauty of the district by such activities.

He said that the programme will be in place soon. There will be a centralised helpline, where people can call and inform the lorry number, which dumps waste on the roadside. The helpline will forward the information to the CEO concerned, which will take action against the vehicle. The CEO can confiscate the lorry as a punishment.

However, Palemar clarified that the prize money will be given only to selected members, criterion for which will be made public with the launching of the programme.

Expressing happiness over district’s performance in total sanitation campaign, Palemar said that the district has surely become a model for the entire country with its models of development like the Ira, Hosangadi models.

Assembly Deputy Speaker N Yogish Bhat said that strengthening of local governing bodies can help in changing the face of grassroots level.

Zilla Panchayat President Shailaja Bhat released the souvenier and CD on the district’s journey towards winning the prestigious total sanitation awards.

Incharge CEO Shivarame Gowda, Chief Planning Officer Mohommad Naseer, ZP Standing Committee for Social Justice President Janardhan Gowda, former ZP Chief Mamatha Gatti, Jana Shikshana Trust Director Krishna Moolya among others spoke on their experience of working for the campaign.

The ‘Nairmalya Rathna’ award carrying the cash prize of Rs 30 lakh was presented again at the ZP hall. Taluk, District, Zonal and State award winning GP Hosangadi was given the award and cash prize of Rs 19 lakh. Ira GP from Bantwal, 34 Nekkiladi of Puttur, Kilpady of Mangalore, Aletti of Sullia also received their taluk level award of Rs one lakh each.


Hosangadi GP emerged as a model by winning taluk, district, zonal and state level sanitation award, thereby bagging a huge prize money of Rs 19 lakh (Rs 10 lakh for state award, Rs five lakh for zonal award, Rs three lakh for district award and Rs one lakh for taluk award). Zilla Panchayat member Dharanendra Kumar and others were lauded for their sincere and selfless efforts.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)