WB govt returns token land to unwilling farmers

The Singur high power committee which was set up by the state government returned the 11.5 acres of substitute land to 12 unwilling farmers of Gopalnagar and Kolaypara, Manik Das, a zilla parishad member from Beraberi, told reporters here.

"We have returned the same quantum of land among the unwilling landowners," he said. The farmers were given substitute land in Gopalnagar and Kolaypara where their original holdings were, he said.

Becha Ram Manna, Trinamool leader and convenor of the Krishi Jami Raksha Samiti said, "The unwilling farmers will be able to sell the land returned or use it for whichever purpose they want."

The 12 unwilling farmers were earlier identified, he said. Manna, School Education Minister Rabindranath Bhattacharya and Trinamool Congress MP Ratna Denag held a meeting before the announcement.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)