Umar, Anjum star in consolation Pak win

Umar, Anjum star in consolation Pak win

HEADY FEELING:Pakistani batsman Umar Akmal is over the moon after bringing up his maiden one-day hundred. ReutersPakistan raced to a commanding 321 for five while the the Lankans were shot out for a paltry 175 to provide some consolation for the visitors, who registered their first win of the tour. Sri Lanka won the Test series 2-0 and had taken an unassailable 3-0 lead in the one-day series before Friday’s day-night game at the Premadasa stadium.

Only left-handed opener Upul Tharanga (80) and skipper Kumar Sangakkara (39) offered any resistance as Anjum shot through the top order.

Earlier, Akmal smashed an unbeaten 102 off 72 balls and skipper Younis Khan made 89.
Umar, 19, pounded four sixes and five boundaries in a maiden one-day century in only his third international. Younis stayed solid as Umar punished the wayward Sri Lankan attack during a fifth-wicket partnership of 176 runs after Pakistan slipped to 130 for four.

Pakistan made a sound start as Imran Nazir hit 23 in a first-wicket stand of 61 with Kamran Akmal. Kamran then put on 45 for the second wicket with Younis to lift Pakistan to 106 for one, before another middle-order collapse saw three wickets fall for 24 runs.

Leg-spinner Malinga Bandara bowled Kamran and trapped Misbah-ul-Haq leg before.



K Akmal b Bandara    57
Nazir b Thushara    23
Younis c Kapugedera b Thushara    89
Yousuf c Jayawardene b Mendis    6
Misbah lbw Bandara    9
U Akmal (not out)    102
S Afridi (not out)    2

Extras (B-4, W-29)    33
Total (for 5 wkts, 50 overs)    321

Fall of wickets: 1-61, 2-106, 3-115, 4-130, 5-306.
Bowling: Malinga 10-0-79-0, Thushara 10-0-74-2, Mathews 8-0-48-0, Bandara 10-0-44-2, Mendis 10-0-56-1, Kandamby 2-0-16-0.


Tharanga c Akmal b Anjum    80
Jayawardene c Aamer b Naved    19
Sangakkara c Nazir b Anjum    39
Kandamby c Younis b Ajmal    15
Kapugedera c Naved b Ajmal    8
Samaraweera c Akmal b Anjum    2
Mathews st Akmal b Afridi    8
Bandara c Misbah b Afridi    0
Thushara b Anjum    0
Malinga c Misbah b Anjum    0
Mendis (not out)    0

Extras (LB-1, W-3)    4     
Total (all out, 36.1 overs)    175

Fall of wickets: 1-36, 2-101, 3-130, 4-157, 5-159, 6-166, 7-167, 8-171, 9-175.
Bowling: Aamer 5-0-34-0, Naved 7-0-46-1, Anjum 8.1-0-30-5, Afridi 9-0-40-2, Ajmal 7-0-24-2.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily