Charge sheet against 54 for causing loss to CMC

Former commissioners N Nanjundappa, M Ramesh, Bharat Mohan, Kempahanumaiah, Syed Jaharuddin and Dr Chandrappa, Assistant Engineer Mariyappa Reddy, former presidents Daschinnasavari, M Bhaktavatsalam and Dilshad Begum are among those facing the charges.

Most of the members elected in 1993 and 2002-03 would also have to face inquiry.
All the suspects allegedly rented stalls at MG Market for much lower than the market rate in 1993 and thereby caused a loss of Rs 3.78 lakh to the CMC.

The suspects allegedly flouted norms while allotting sites in 2002-03, causing a loss of Rs 4.59 lakh.

Former Commissioner Hanumanthappa had filed a complaint in 2007. As  gazetted officers were also among the accused, the police sought permission from the government to file the charge sheet.  The government granted permission in the first week of August after a gap of four years.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)