Anna factor helps ABVP win DU polls

Anna factor helps ABVP win DU polls

For the second year in running, the ABVP won three of the four seats in what is considered a prestigious annual political battle in the capital.

Ajay Chhikara of NSUI, the student wing of the Congress, was elected president, defeating Neha Singh of ABVP by 2,357 votes.

Elections took place on Friday at the university. Vikas Choudhary of the ABVP, which is allied to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, was elected vice-president.

He defeated NSUI’s Bhupendra Chaudhary by 3,780 votes. Vikas Yadav and Deepak Bansal, both ABVP members, won the posts of secretary and joint secretary respectively.
Yadav worsted NSUI’s Parag Sharma by 2,291 votes. Bansal had a 2,105-vote margin victory over NSUI’s Ashish Chaudhary.

The results sparked off celebrations on the camps. Last year, the ABVP had won the DUSU presidency and two other posts — vice-president and secretary. The NSUI could bag only the post of joint secretary.