Colourful start to Dasara Games

Colourful start to Dasara Games

General: KSCA President Kumble declares meet open

BRIGHTSTART: DharwadSTC’s MNagaraj vies with Halaswamy (right) of Sports Hostel, Davangere in the men’s 60kg category of wrestling meet at the Dasara Sports onFriday. Athletes from Mysore, Belgaum, Gulbarga, Bangalore City and Bangalore Rural will vie for top honours in various sports disciplines in the four-day event which concludes on October 3. The sports events will begin at various venues on Saturday.

The Dasara Sports torch was carried during the final lap by international players Poojashree Venkatesha, MSThejkumar, Arpitha Mary, Navaneetha and Reena George.

The torch relay which started from Chamundi Hill on Friday morning was lit by international football player MSManjunath at the cauldron of the main venue.

Speaking on the occasion, Kumble said that it was a honour to be part of Dasara. Former
Indian skipper requested the Medical education and minister in-charge of the district SARamdas to provide land in the city for KSCAto build a cricket stadium which can host international matches. Further, Kumble said a cricket academy would be opened in the city soon.

Kumble also wished the best for athletes selected from the state for participating in the London Olympics.

Home and transport minister RAshoka, speaking on the occasion said that under special recruitment, BMTChas been instructed to also recruit sportspersons.

Ramdas later announced that government is planning a ‘Games Village’ in Mysore. The minister said discussions would be held with all elected representatives of the district and the village would add to the grandeur of the city.

Nagaraj triumphs

Nagaraj of STCDharwad took home the 60kg senior category wrestling crown and with it the Dasara Kumara title. He also won a cash prize of Rs 5000 along with a three-quarter kg silver mace.

The over 74kg Dasara Kanteerava final will see Anil M Ghorpade face off against Siddharth Mane on Monday with the winner walking away with a cash prize of Rs 12,500 and one-and-a-quarter kg silver mace. The 74kg Dasara Kesari final will be held between Sandeep Kate and Shiva Prasad, also on Monday.

The winner will grab a cash prize of Rs 10,000 along with 1 kg silver mace.

Results: Wrestling: Senior: 55kg: Shariff Inmmadar (Haliyala) 1; Vinayak Gurav (Belgaum) 2; Kenchappa (Sports Hostel, Davanagere) 3.
60kg:Nagaraj (STC, Dharwad) (Dasara Kumara, Rs 5000 and 3/4kg silver mace) 1; Halaswamy (SH, Davanagere) 2; Gopi K (Davanagere) 3.
66kg: Hanumanth Chammal (KSP, Davanagere) 1; Panduranga Kumbar (MEG, Bangalore) 2; Suresh Bykod (STC, Dharwad) 3.
Junior: 42kg: Venkatesh (Davanagere) 1; Raju (DYSS, Belgaum) 2; Ajith Tonshal (DYSS, Belgaum) 3.
46kg: Shivanand Talwar (DYSS, Belgaum) 1; Manjunath (STC, Dharwad) 2; Sidappa (Mudhol) 3. 50kg: Rajesh (Davanagere) 1; Multani (DYSS, Belgaum) 2; Prabhakar (DYSS, Davanagere) 3.
54kg: Lakshman Munnoli (Sports Hostel, Belgaum) 1; Gopal Kali (Sports Hostel,Belgaum) 2; Mohan Channapur (DYSS, Davanagere) 3.
58kg: Ananth Gadi (Belgaum) (Dasara Kishore Rs 2000 and 1/2Kg silver mace) 1; Praveen SI (Mudhol) 2; Vishnu Kumar (STC, Dharwad) 3.
Women: 44kg: Prema Uchannavar (Gadag) 1; Sandhya (Belgaum) 2; Surabhi (Mandya) 3. 48kg:Basheera (Gadag) 1; Mahalakshmi Siddi (Belgaum) 2; Kusumarani (Gadag) 3.
51kg: Aarthi Patil (Belgaum) 1; Shahida (Gadag) 2; Savakka (Belgaum) 3.
55kg: Dhanashri Patil (Belgaum) 1; Nagamma (Mandya) 2; Yogitha Patil (Alvas) 3. 59kg:Aishwarya (Belgaum) 1; Rangitha (Alvas) 2; Rita Priyanka (Mysore) 3.
63kg: Ramya MR (Mysore) 1; Athmashree (Alvas) 2; Shree (Alvas) 3.
Above 63kg:Subbalakshmi (South Kanara) 1; Anushree (Alvas) 2; Bhavya TS (Mandya) 3.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)