AIADMK warms up to BJP, Jaya sends emissary to Advani's yatra

AIADMK warms up to BJP, Jaya sends emissary to Advani's yatra

AIADMK leader J Jayalalithaa deputed its parliamentary chief M Thambidurai for the concluding function of BJP leader L K Advani's Jan Chetna Yatra at the Ramlila Maidan here today.

"I want to congratulate Advaniji on behalf of our leader J Jayalalitha for raising the issue of corruption. I convey my greetings to you from my leader J Jayalalitha," he said. He said, "We hope that all like-minded political parties get together in raising the issue of corruption against the UPA and help give good governance to the people of the country."

The AIADMK gesture assumes significance, as it comes ahead of the winter session of Parliament which starts on Tuesday. The BJP-led NDA is planning to corner the government on the issues of corruption, price rise and black money.

Even though AIADMK is not part of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), its leader Thambidurai sat prominently among other NDA leaders on the stage at the Ramlila maidan and joined the NDA leaders in attacking the Congress-led UPA government on corruption.

Thambidurai also recalled how various political parties got together with AIADMK last November in raising the 2G issue in Parliament alongwith other corruption issues. "I am thankful to all opposition parties for raising the 2G scam issue and other issues of corruption against the UPA in Parliament," he said.

Thambidurai was also sent by AIADMK chief J Jayalalitha to represent the party at Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi's Sadbhavna fast for peace and harmony sometime ago.

BJP sources say the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister had informed Advani last night of her party sending an emissary on the concluding day of his yatra. Incidentally, Jayalalithaa had earlier this year offered to back the Congress in Parliament if UPA parted ways with DMK led by M Karunanidhi, in the wake of corruption allegations against its ministers.

NDA's new ally Republican Party of India (RPI) was represented at the rally by its leader Ramdas Athawale, who was also seated prominently alongwith other NDA leaders Sharad Yadav of JDU, Anant Geete of Shiv Sena and Manjit Singh of Shiromani Akali Dal's Delhi unit.