MES: Let border areas be under Central rule

MES: Let border areas be under Central rule

 MES has begun its campaign demanding the merger of Belgaum, Khanapur, Nipani, Bidar and Bhalki (leaving out Karwar this time) with Maharashtra.

The campaign which began on Thursday evening at Rajahansagad (Yellur) on the outskirts of Belgaum city would culminate at Rayagad, the erstwhile capital of Chatrapati Shivaji on September 2.

En route it would pass through Savantawadi, Banda, Shiroda, Vengurla, Kudal, Sindhadurg, Kasal, Malavan, Devgad, Kankavali, Rajapur, Lanja, Divrukh, Ratnagiri, Chipulun, Khed, Dapoli and Mahad in Maharashtra.

MES sources said the campaign was intended to create awareness about border row between Karnataka and Maharashtra. The campaign is pro keeping the border aKreas under the Central rule till the vexed problem is resolved.

Office-bearers of MES Belgaum city and taluk units and people's representatives will be participating in the abhiyan, according to city unit president T K Patil, who presided over a meeting on Thursday.

MES Working President Kiran Thakur, councillors Kiran Sayanak, Balasaheb Kakatkar, Netaji Jadhav, Pandhari Parab and others were present at the abhiyan.