National roller skating from Jan 24

National roller skating from Jan 24

The Karnataka Roller Skating Association (KRSA) will organise the 49th National Speed Roller Skating championships from January 24 to 28 at the international level BBMP skating rink here.

A total of 700 skaters from 21 states will participate in the five-day event at Chennammanakere Acchukattu, Banashankari III Stage, that will have 300 medals (100 each of gold, silver and bronze) on offer. Hosts Karnataka are the defending champions and have been winners at the Nationals since 2006.

KRSA chairman R Rathan Singh told a press conference that the event will provide a fillip to roller skating in the state and will also go a long way in popularisng the sport. “We hope that with the organisation of this event, Karnataka will further strengthen its position in the skating arena.”   

Top skaters from Karnataka will be on show at the event. The championships will be held in five age categories — 8-10, 10-12, 12-14, 14-16 and above 16 years. In each age group, two types of skates will be used — Quad skates, which will have four wheels side by side at the front and two wheels each at the back and Inline skates, which will have four to five wheels fastened to the skates in line.

Quad skaters will have three events at the international level skating rink besides a road race to be held on the NICE Road. Inline skaters will figure in three rink races and along with that, will strut their stuff in the point-to-point, elimination and relay races which will also be conducted at the international rink.  They will also have a road race on the NICE Road and a half-marathon race (21.5 Km).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)