Notification for fourth phase of UP polls issued

Notification for fourth phase of UP polls issued

Notification for the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections was issued today, setting in motion the process of filing nominations.

The fourth phase would test the fate of several heavyweights including three ministers, 32 sitting MLAs, 12 former ministers, BJP national vice-president Kalraj Mishra and Congress state president Rita Bahuguna Joshi.

Polling for the fourth phase of elections covering 56 seats spread over Hardoi, Unnao, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Farukkhabad, Kannauj, Banda, Chitrakoot, Pratapgarh and Fatehpur districts would be held on February 19.

"More than 1.72 crore voters are expected to cast their votes at 18209 polling booths at 12821 polling stations where 19029 electronic voting machines would be used," according to the Election Commission.

In this phase, senior BJP leader and Rajya Sabha member Kalraj Mishra would be making his debut in electoral politics from Lucknow east seat, whereas UPPCC president Rita Bahuguna Joshi would be contesting from Lucknow Cant seat.

Congress Legislative Party leader Pramod Tiwari would be seeking re-run from his traditional Rampur Khas seat in Pratapgarh district.

This phase would also test the luck of Louis Khurshid, wife of Union Law Minister Salman Khurshid from Farukkhabad Sadar seat.

Among ministers, Urban Development Minister Nakul Dubey has shifted to Bakshi ka Talab seat while Science and Technology Minister Abdul Mannan would be re-contesting from Sandila seat.

Chairman of Housing and Development Board Achche Lal Nishad would be contesting from Tindwari while chairman of UP Agro Brijmohan Singh Kushwaha would file nomination for Baberu seat.

Senior BJP leader and MP Lalji Tandon's son Ahustosh Tandon alias Gopal would be making debut from Lucknow north seat.

Sitting BSP MLA and son of former minister Naresh Agarwal, Nitin Agarwal would be seeking re-run from Hardoi Sadat seat on SP ticket this time.

Synonymous with women empowerment in Bundelkhan region and leader of Gulabi gang, Sampat Pal would also be in the fray as a Congress candidate.

Independent candidate from Rae Bareli Sadar seat Akhilesh Singh would be contesting as Peace Party candidate, whereas heavyweight and sitting MLA Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiyya would be testing his luck from Kunda seat.

Veer Singh, son of slain dacoit Daddua, would be contesting for Karvi seat in Chitrakoot as SP nominee.