Five CMC members suspended

Five CMC members suspended

 Five JD(S) members of the Mandya city municipal council (CMC) have been suspended for their act of disrupting the general body meeting and occupying the chairs reserved for the president and commissioner on Thursday.

The five members staged a protest by sitting at the entrance of the meeting hall, demanding the resignation of CMC president Arun Kumar, as per the party leaders’ directions. So the scheduled meeting could not be convened.

Arguments went on till noon and the commissioner lodged a complaint with the police stating that the councillors were not allowing the meeting to be held.  The police intervened and brought the situation under control. However, immediately after entering the meeting hall, councillors M J Chikkanna, Gourish, Shankaregowda, Cheluvaraj occupied the chairs reserved for the president and commissioner. Another councillor Padmavathy was supporting the group.

The president suspended five councillors for a period of two days for dishonouring the meeting. The meet later started at 1.30 pm. The difference of opinion and dissidence among JD(S) members has had its effect on the general body meeting. 

It has been criticised that the meeting held after a gap of six months was misused for discussing the party’s issues rather than development works. President Arun Kumar was asked to resign by JD(S) state president H D Kumarswamy and MP Cheluvarayaswamy according to an internal agreement, which he neglected — leading to such an incident at the meeting.