Rituparna bags crown

Fourth seed Rituparna Das of West Bengal overcame third seed Reshma Karthik of Karnataka to lift the girls’ under-17 crown in the 36th National Junior badminton championships at the Sawai Man Singh stadium here on Sunday.

Rituparna scored a 22-20, 21-14 victory over Reshma in the final. But the corresponding boys’ summit clash was a nerve-wrecking affair with second seed Harsheel Dani of Air India prevailing over top seed and team-mate Aditya Joshi. Dani won 22-20, 15-21, 21-17 with the encounter lasting for more than an hour.

Results (finals, prefix denote seedings): Boys: U-19: 1-Sameer Verma bt 2-Rohit Yadav C 21-16, 21-16.

Doubles: 1-Srikanth K/ Hemanagendra Babu T bt 3-Gopi Raju G/ Shivam Sharma 15-21, 21-18, 21-17.

U-17: 2-Harsheel Dani bt 1-Aditya Joshi 22-20, 15-21, 21-17.

Doubles: 2-Chaitanya Reddy K/ Chaitanya KP bt Vighnesh Devlekar/ Kaushal Dharmamer 21-19, 21-15.

Girls: U-19: 2-Tanvi Lad bt 1-Saili Rane 21-17, 21-16.

Doubles: 2-Saili Rane/ Arathi Sara Sunil bt 3-Meghana J/ Maneesha K 21-13, 15-21, 21-12.

U-17: 4-Rituparna Das bt 3-Reshma Karthik 22-20, 21-14.

Doubles: 1-Ruthvika Shivani G/ Poorvisha S Ram bt Meghana J/ Maneesha K 21-7, 21-9.

Mixed doubles (U-19): 1-Venkatesh B/ Ruthvika Shivani G bt 2-Srikanth K/ Maneesha K 21-19, 21-19.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0